Setting up my own Server (Private/Public)

Use this forum to get help.

Setting up my own Server (Private/Public)

Postby Dean » Sat Feb 21, 2004 3:54 pm

SCOPE:
I would like to install and setup SpamGourmet on my Linux box for my own personal use and later for possibly public use.

HISTORY:
I'm running Redhat 9, soon to migrate to Fedora. I'm not the most expirienced Admin, I'm pretty novice to Linux. But, I am a Mainframe programmer and so not totally new. I have setup other RPM packages, webmin, spamassassin etc... I'm good at following HOWTO directions.

TOPIC:
Is there a HOWTO for setting up spamgourmet? I've been told I'd probably have to install a DBI for MySQL (RH9 doesn't have one). Is there any FAQ, HOWTO, Manual I can read to setup spamgourmet on my own server?

I've downloaded the source but have not yet tried the install. I'm just missing a few conceptual pieces. One piece I'm missing is the interface to sendmail. Is it through PostFix? Do I setup a blind forward for my domain and use PostFix to filter it through the script?

I'm sure these are stupid questions but I have to start somewhere. I will read the manual, I just haven't found one yet. Is there any help out there? Questions to info@spamgourmet and SourceForge have gone unanswered.

Thank you!
-[d]-

email: <<Sanitized by SysKoll>>
sfspamgourmet.20.dfox
in the domain xoxy.net
Dean

Postby josh » Sat Feb 21, 2004 9:27 pm

Did you get the release? Or did you get the code from CVS? It's been about a year since we did a release :)

I think installation of our software on another server is probably our weakest point right now, except that it's hopefully gotten easier in the last year.

get the CVS code -- we can walk you through installing it here...
josh

I now have the CVS Code

Postby Dean » Thu Feb 26, 2004 3:54 pm

Thanks josh,

I did have the release instead of the CVS code. To make things easier, I've downloaded the entire spamgourmet CVS tree. I should now have everything locally.