The SG server clock seems off by 10 mins -- need ntpd

Discussion re sg development. You don't have to be a developer.

The SG server clock seems off by 10 mins -- need ntpd

Postby SysKoll » Tue Oct 21, 2003 9:43 pm

Unless I am mistaken, the SG server clock seems to be off by 10 mins. That might hamper us later during test. Josh, if you want, I can send you an ntpd.conf parm file for the ntp daemon. Please check that ntpd is available on the server .
-- SysKoll
SysKoll
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 9:24 pm

Postby josh » Wed Oct 22, 2003 2:11 am

yes, it's off. I just installed ntpd, but I'm clueless on how to set it up -- I put a time server host in the file /etc/ntp.conf -- nothing seems to be happening, though (I tried running ntpd, but it's not sticking for some reason)
josh
 
Posts: 1371
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 2:28 pm

Please ask HE about their NTP server

Postby SysKoll » Wed Oct 22, 2003 5:41 pm

Josh,

Please ask your HE sysadm if they have their own NTP server and if so, which stratum it is.

UPDATE: Never mind, I found it: clock.sjc.he.net, startum 2.
-- SysKoll
SysKoll
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 9:24 pm

Clock OK on test server

Postby SysKoll » Sun Oct 26, 2003 3:52 pm

I just checked the clock on the test server, compared to the www.time.gov official time. It's right on the mark. So all we need now is to put the same setup on the production server.
-- SysKoll
SysKoll
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 9:24 pm

Postby josh » Sun Oct 26, 2003 4:54 pm

done
josh
 
Posts: 1371
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 2:28 pm


Return to Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron